A View of the C

Funny – Inappropriate – Edumacational

A Few Quick Movie Reviews

I recently joined Netflix again and since I’m not currently working, I have some time to catch up on movies that I might not shell money out for at the theatre. Yes, I spelled that in the fancy way cause you know, I’m a fancy guy. 

House Bunny
Anna Faris is great, the movie kind of sucks. It’s Legally Blonde meets Revenge of the Nerds. The moral is that if you’re a woman, wear slutty clothes and offer sex and you’ll get a man. Oh yeah, with a tiny slice of “be yourself” and shit.

Eagle Eye
Shia LaBeouf is hot and a smart actor – it’s effortless to watch him act, he’s pretty AND talented. The movie is basically about how technology can fuck you over. Absurd but full of action, I enjoyed it once I accepted the far-fetched (or is it?) storyline. Don’t watch if you’re on Adderal.

Mamma Mia!
Sucked ass. It was painful to watch, even I’m not that gay. Seriously, it was like watching a bunch of dinosaurs jump around to what should be happy-go-lucky ABBA music. Meryl was up for the challenge of her role, I mean, bravery-wise. She isn’t a good enough singer but she sure tried and I admire her chutzpah. Pierce Brosnan on the other hand, “pierced” my eardrums. The only truly good part was the daughter played by Amanda Seyfried, she’s a stunner and a great singer. Oh yeah, Colin Firth was great too.

All throughout the movie, I found myself thinking, “This is the best cast they could come up with?” In all fairness, I do have to admit that my ideal musical (and I’m not typically a musical-lover) was Moulin Rouge.

January 17, 2009 - Posted by | Commentary, Movies | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m right with you on House Bunny. The love story was a hollow shell of a plot device as was the anti-climactic ending. We took a 13 year old girl to see it in the theater. She thought it was stupid. But Anna Faris still pwned and is essentially what got me through the movie. I like her best in Gregg Araki’s “Smiley Face”.

    Comment by Phil | January 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

