A View of the C

Funny – Inappropriate – Edumacational

iPhone Is The New Booty Call

booty-callWell, not for me because the last thing I want is the ability to be leaving a laundromatwith a thought of ‘Hmmm what should I do now?’ followed by my iPhone app giving my proximity to some skeezer in the apartment building across the street.  However, I do know a few people who are on their way to the AT&T kiosk ’round the corner to one up.  As if I really needed another reason to think my phone is a germ metropolis – thanks MENSA guys!

TechCrunch.com:
The iPhone is a hotbed for location-based social networks, which tap into the phone’s geolocation features to help users find nearby friends and strangers that they might like to meet. We’ve seen a handful of dating applications that cater to the straight community, and today brings the launch of Grindr (iTunes Link), one of the first iPhone applications geared towards gay and bisexual men.

While privacy is an issue for all location based social networks, it is of the utmost importance on gay networks. Without proper security measures, bigots could easily download such applications and use them to pinpoint targets for hateful slurs and potentially even violence. Grindr deals with these issues by obscuring a user’s absolute location by default. Rather than plotting each user on the map. Grindr displays how far away they are (distances can range from a few feet to miles away).   READ MORE HERE

March 26, 2009 - Posted by | Did you know?, technology | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. This application works really well. My nephew said he was able to go on three dates just while shopping at the Piggly Wiggly. Two of them apparantly went well and they stayed up for hours sitting in the park next door. I’m glad these young folks are bringing some romance back to dating.

    Comment by Qualisha | March 26, 2009

  2. I have been married for 10 years now, so I have been out of the dating game for quite some time now. This social networking phenomenon is wild. I have a younger cousin, and he tells me these stories about how women are so forward these days sending risky photos. I couldn’t even imagine how dating is these days.

    Comment by JM (aka Brain) | March 26, 2009

  3. Yeah, it’s strange how open people have become so open and seemingly forget that what they send is so easily accessible on the computer, phones, etc. Scary stuff indeed!

    Comment by aviewofthec | March 26, 2009

  4. Not saying my generation were saints, but wow. In my age it was wild if someone took Poloraids or filmed via VHS…lol. Now they send clips of acts via cell phone and email each other performing whatever. Basically immortalizing themselves in cyberspace. I couldn’t imagine.

    Comment by JM (aka Brain) | March 26, 2009

  5. Oh my goodness – my sister’s best friend, Rosalyn, said that her stylist’s cousin’s brother met a really nice guy at the Piggly Wiggly! But from what I had heard, they weren’t sitting in a park, they were at the park-n-ride next door.

    Qualisha – get your lies str8!

    Comment by dubyabejay | March 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

