A View of the C

Funny – Inappropriate – Edumacational

God’s Best: Open To Interpretation?

I came across this CNN interview on Larry King – it was was with Joel and Victoria Osteen. Of course, my eye is always drawn to the part where they start discussing gay rights and the Bible. I was waiting for something slighting the gay community but was pleasantly surprised when they expressed their opinion without throwing the scripture behind the discrimination of gays. I’m still not sure if that’s just a carefully-worded answer or if they truly are of a differing opinion without being offensive. 

King: Do you think that eventually many more states are going to allow same-sex marriage?

Joel Osteen: You know, I don’t know where it’s all going … I’d love to see it stay between a male and a female, not knocking anybody else.

King: Supposing there were more states that had it. What would be the harm?

Victoria Osteen: We really want to see marriage between a man and a woman. There [are] going to be people who get together and have relationships and have what they call their families. But I just think marriage should be sanctified by the church. It should be between a man and a woman.

King: Should a gay couple be allowed to adopt?

Joel Osteen: I think that, again, it’s best for a male and a female. I’m not saying that gay people aren’t good people. …

King: Or good parents.

Joel Osteen: Yeah, exactly. But again, I like to shoot for God’s best, and that is a father and a mother in the home. It doesn’t always happen. I know a lot of people raised by single parents. And you know what? We bless them and pray for them as well. But I think God’s best is a male and female.

Watch the interview here and I’m curious, what do you think? Is “God’s best” truly just a man or a woman? I mean, who created me then and if God created everything and everyone, then why would he create me as a gay man? I had no examples of gay people growing up, they weren’t on TV, I grew up in a conservative town, with conservative parents, etc. So I’m curious as to how that’s not “God’s best”. And frankly, you can say you’re not knocking me but when you implement laws or spread the opinion that I’m less-than, it’s knocking me with a smile – and is that worse?

April 8, 2009 - Posted by | gay rights | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. It comes down to what you think about the bible. If you believe it is God’s word, then you view your life and your world based on that truth. If you believe it is God’s word and you “feel” that you were born gay, and it has nothing to do with your sexual identity being confused by something that happened to you in your youth, as some to attest, you still need to recognize that you have to ask God to help you change that struggle you may have been born with. Some people are born with physical challenges, mental challenges, etc. They don’t try to say that it is okay, let us legislate my physical challenge as a lifestlyle. They seek to overcome those challenges. I am not saying that being gay is a mental or physical challenge, but is certainly seems to be a challenge of some sort, whether good or bad is up to each individual person. If of course your worldview is based upon your own perceptions of the world and of God only, then God’s word means nothing to you and you see your situation as something that is okay, and everyone needs to understand this. But every situation is like this. Do we believe God at His word or not? The bible says that satan tempted Eve in the very beginning by saying to her- “Surely, God has not said…..”

    Comment by Gary | April 8, 2009

  2. Good comment, thank you. I don’t personally feel like the Bible defines what is wrong for me versus what is right for you, I feel that the Bible is full of contradictions and is open to interpretation by man. And in being so, I think certain liberties have been taken. On a broader scale, I don’t think it’s literal anyway so I tend to not give it too much thought.

    Thanks again for the comment.

    Comment by aviewofthec | April 8, 2009

  3. When you feel the Bible is full of contradictions you are not seeking the TRUTH.
    It says, You shall KNOW the truth and the truth will set you FREE! That does not mean free to sin. It means, in serving God…AND HIS LAWS….you can remain FREE from sin.
    Sad that they put people like Osteen on…who is a poor example for Evangelicals. He is of the modern-day “just feel good about yourself” and does not preach Crist crucified and the blood of Jesus paid for our sins. That is why he can attract thousands to his “lectures” as he is not a preacher or a reverend.
    His late father was a true man of God and even Joel’s mothr has been quoted as saying , “Joel couldn’t carry his father’s briefcase. That pretty much says it about him.

    Comment by Cliff | April 8, 2009

  4. The Osteens are spiritually blind to the damage that Barack Obama is doing to the good name of Christians. Is there any evidence to convict Obama of being a Christian? Is he a weed? Or is he wheat? When the angels come at the end of time for the harvest, which pile will his soul be tossed upon?

    I know the bible. I know and practice Christianity. It is not enough to say one is a Christian. One must act upon it. Christians don’t persecute the unborn child by promoting rampant abortion. Obama loves abortion. Obama is a liar. Lying is evidence that he is the Son of the Great Liar and Deceiver.

    May Obama truly turn to God and stop the sham acting he is now doing.

    Comment by M. Reilly | April 8, 2009

  5. This is where I see the problem:
    “But I just think marriage should be sanctified by the church”
    That’s imposing religious standards on something that can be totally secular. It would be like saying a driver’s license has to be sanctioned by the church, and that would surely be special treatment.

    Comment by Phil | April 9, 2009

  6. Once again a chance for a so-called, Man of God, to stand up against the sins that are written about in God’s word and he bows out. Gay marriage is an Obamination, and so is Obortion.

    Way to stand up for your Savior, Preacher Joel.

    Comment by Eric | April 9, 2009

  7. Passing judgement perhaps? Uh-oh!

    Comment by aviewofthec | April 9, 2009


Leave a Reply

