A View of the C

Funny – Inappropriate – Edumacational

I Love The “GOOP”

I’m not sure why people are hatin’ on Gwyneth Paltrow because she has started a newsletter to try to share what she is learning with other people. Is it because she comes across as sort of “better-than” or because she has a certain presence about her that is strong and confident? I’m not sure, but it’s somewhat perplexing. I also think that this particular newsletter is appropriate for what I just mentioned. 

Take away the salacious aspect of it, the is this about Winona piece of it, and you’ll get what I believe are really sound words. When this ran, people just dissed Gwyneth left and right, and why? Because she’s trying to help us all be better versions of ourselves? And what is it that these naysayers are doing to better the world? What is it in themselves that causes them to want to knock her down a peg or two? Try reading Dr. Drew’s book, “The Mirror Effect” and you just might have the answer. But without further ado, here’s part of the latest GOOP release and try to read between the lines.  Thanks to lalaG for sending this along. 

Back in the day, I had a “frenemy” who, as it turned out, was pretty hell-bent on taking me down. This person really did what they could to hurt me. I was deeply upset, I was angry, I was all of those things you feel when you find out that someone you thought you liked was venomous and dangerous. I restrained myself from fighting back. I tried to take the high road. But one day I heard that something unfortunate and humiliating had happened to this person. And my reaction was deep relief and…happiness. There went the high road. So, why does it feel so good to hear something bad about someone you don’t like? Or someone you DO like? Or someone you don’t KNOW? I once asked the editor of a tabloid newspaper why all of the stories about a famous British couple had a negative bent. He said that when the headline was positive, the paper didn’t sell. Why is that? What’s wrong with us? I asked the sages to shed a little light.

Here’s to washing our mouths out with soap…

Love,

--- Gwyneth Paltrow

April 17, 2009 - Posted by | Commentary, Inspiration | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

